My Two Cents: Kick-Ass 2 and David Finch’s Batman

13 07 2010

Art by David Finch

 Once again articles on Bleedingcool.com has inspired me to offer my opinions on the topics of what to expect from Mark Millar’s Kick-Ass 2: Balls to the Wall and David Finch’s upcoming Batman mini-series.

Evidently David Finch will have a new Batman mini-series called Batman: The Dark Knight. I myself am a fan of David Finch’s art so I am somewhat excited for this. The part that I’m worried about is that he is writing the mini as well. Now I have not read a comic that Finch has both written and drawn, so I have no idea what to expect. That’s what’s worrying me a little. After reading Batman: Odyssey by Neal Adams my faith and expectations of books that are written and drawn by the same person went downward. But then I had to remember all the awesome series that were both written and drawn by the same person (i.e. Monkeyman and O’Brien, Liberty Meadows, Battle Chasers…). I may check it out when it is released. This book is scheduled to be released November 2010.

I’m sure you guys know how I feel about Mark Millar right now. I am a big fan of his older work, such as Superman: Red Son, Ultimate X-Men, The Ultimates, and Wanted. But then came along Civil War, Kick-Ass, War Heroes, and Nemesis. Oh and Old Man Logan. His newer stories have  seriously disappointed me and now I want the old Mark Millar back. Just like Old Man Logan is getting a sequel, so is Kick-Ass. Watch Nemesis get a sequel. Anyway I read what Mark Millar has said about what Kick-Ass 2: Balls to the Wall is going to be like… and I was amazed at how much he referenced movies and how much his story is going to be like such-and-such movie. He said that Red Mist is going to be a bit of Heath Ledger’s Joker and other movie villains he’s enjoyed. Really Mr. Millar? Can’t you come up with something new and original??? It wasn’t enough to rip off The Dark Knight and Heath Ledger’s Joker in Nemesis? He also makes a reference about how Hit-Girl is going to be like Clint Eastwood in Unforgiven. I could go on, but quite frankly I don’t want to.

I now pose the question: How is this guy still getting work when it’s CRYSTAL CLEAR all he does now is steal from movies?

Answer: Fanboiz gotta have dey Mark Millar awesomeness crap!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

